How to Create a Group Chat on the iPhone & Manage Members

Learning how to make a group on an iPhone can be incredibly useful in a social and even business setting.

Are you wondering how to create a group text? You don't need to look for a free chat app or group text app. Instead, you can create group messages to keep in contact with multiple people simultaneously in the Messages app on your iPhone. You can even have group chats with Android users although settings will be limited. Group texts can easily get out of hand when there are lots of members. However, they are fantastic for sharing information that multiple people need to know in a single message. We've already covered how to name a group text on iPhone and how to leave a group text. Learn how to create a group text on the iPhone.

Related: How Many People Can Join a Group Text on an iPhone or iPad?

Jump to:

How to Enable Group Messaging on the iPhone

Before you can create group messages, you must enable group messaging in your settings. To learn more about using the Messages app on the iPhone, sign up for our free Tip of the Day newsletter.

Master your iPhone in one minute a day:

Sign up to iPhone Life's Tip of the Day Newsletter and we'll send you a tip each day to save time and get the most out of your iPhone or iPad.

  1. Open the Settings app.

    Open Settings app
     
  2. Tap Messages.

    Message app settings
     
  3. Under SMS/MMS toggle Group Messaging on.

    Toggle Group Messaging setting

How to Create Group Messages on the iPhone

With your Settings in order, here's how to start a group message:

  1. Open the Messages app.

    Open Messages app
     
  2. Tap the new message icon in the upper-right corner.

    Start new message
     
  3. Enter the names of the contacts you want to add. Or you can tap the blue plus sign to scroll.

    Add contacts to group text
     
  4. Type your message and tap the Send icon.  

    Type a message to start group chat

You’ve learned how to make a group chat on iPhone and you are ready to chat!

How to Add Someone to a Group Text

Once you have created an iMessage group chat, you can add additional contacts to a group. This is only possible if everyone in the group is an iPhone user. Groups with Android users are possible but have limited possibilities.

  1. Open the group message chat and tap the tiny caret (arrow) to the right of the group name. If the group isn’t named, it will be next to the number of people in the group.

    Tap caret to see more options
     
  2. Tap the info icon in the upper right corner.

    Tap the info icon to see group text options
     
  3. Select Add Contact.

    Tap add contact to add someone to group text
     
  4. Type the person's name or tap the plus icon and select from your Contacts list.

    Type contact name to add someone to group text
     
  5. Tap Done.

    Click done to add new contacts to group text

How to Remove Someone from a Group Text

It is only possible to remove someone from a group text if there are three or more people, not including yourself. If everyone in the group is an iMessages user, anyone in the group can add or remove someone, as long as there are three or more other people in the group.  

You can remove someone from a group text after your first message has been sent:

  1. Tap the tiny caret (arrow) to the right of the group name.

    Tap the caret to see more options
     
  2. Tap the info icon.

    Tap the info icon to see group chat options
     
  3. Swipe left on the person’s name. 

    Swipe left on contact you want to remove
     
  4. Tap Remove.

    Tap to remove a contact from group chat

How to Leave a Group Message on Your iPhone

There have to be three people not including yourself for you to leave the group. 

  1. Tap the tiny caret (arrow) to the right of the group name.

    Tap the caret to see more options
     
  2. Tap the info icon.

    Tap the info icon to see group chat options
     
  3. Tap Leave this Conversation at the bottom of your screen.

    Tap to leave text group
     
  4. Confirm to leave the group chat.

    Confirm to leave a group conversation

Once you leave a chat, you cannot re-add yourself. Another member can add you again. If you are only chatting with two other people, no one can leave the conversation. If you delete the conversation, the other members can still message and you will receive the notifications. 

It is possible to mute the conversation to stop receiving notifications. In extreme circumstances, you can also block the other members. However, they will not be able to contact you via message or call if you do so. 

Can People Using iPhone & Android Group Text

When chatting with in a group text with an Android user, the function being used is SMS/MMS rather than group iMessages. It is possible to create a group containing Android as well as iPhone users. However, once the group is created, it is impossible to add or remove members or leave the conversation as long as an Android user is part of the group. If someone is missing from your chat, you will have to create a new SMS/MMS thread and invite all participants simultaneously.

Cannot add Android user to existing group chat Learning how to make a group on iPhone can be incredibly useful in a social and even business setting. If you are in a group chat with only iMessages members, you can easily add and remove members as necessary. If you’re planning on including Android users in a group chat, add everyone simultaneously as you will not be able to add or remove anyone later on. You will also be unable to leave the conversation.
Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Author Details

Conner Carey's picture

Author Details

Conner Carey

Conner Carey's writing can be found at conpoet.com. She is currently writing a book, creating lots of content, and writing poetry via @conpoet on Instagram. She lives in an RV full-time with her mom, Jan and dog, Jodi as they slow-travel around the country.