How to Customize Who Sees Your Focus Status in Messages

Customize which contacts can see when you're using a Focus mode, so they know that your notifications have been silenced.

* This post is part of iPhone Life's Tip of the Day newsletter. . *

When you're using a Focus Mode, you can share your Focus status with some of your contacts and not with others. When your Focus status is shared with a contact, that person can see you have notifications silenced if they decide to text you. Let's cover how to share your iPhone Focus status.

Related: How to Create a Custom Focus Mode in iOS 15

Why You’ll Love This Tip

  • Let certain people know when your notifications are disabled.
  • Make sure family and friends don’t think you’re just ignoring their texts or calls.

How to Share Focus Status on iPhone

To set a general rule for sharing Focus status, you can read our article on sharing Focus status with all contacts. It's important to note that letting people see your Focus status is different from adding people to a Focus mode. Adding people to a Focus mode allows notifications from those people while silencing them from anyone else. Letting people see your Focus status just allows them to see that you have notifications silenced. For more handy tips on using Focus modes, consider signing up for our free Tip of the Day Newsletter. Now, here's how to change your shared Focus status for a specific contact.           

  1. Open the Messages app.


     
  2. Select a conversation with a contact you want to change the shared Focus status for.

    Tap a conversation.
     
  3. Tap on the contact card at the top of the screen.

    Tap the Contact info at the top of the screen.
     
  4. Tap to enable the Share Focus Status toggle and allow the contact to see when you have notifications silenced. 


     
  5. You can tap again to disable the Share Focus Status toggle, so that a contact can still send you messages but can't see when notifications are silenced. 


     
  6. Once you've set the shared Focus status for the contact, tap Done

That's it! Now you can set which contacts can see when you have a Focus mode enabled and notifications are silenced. When enabled, contacts will only see that your notifications are silenced, but will not see the name or type of Focus mode you have enabled. 

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Topics

Author Details

Devala Rees's picture

Author Details

Devala Rees

Devala Rees has been a writer since the age of eleven, and a loyal user of Apple products for even longer. His writing background is quite eclectic, from freelance professional articles to Hindu religious scholarship to fantasy novels. Much of his writing on various topics can be found on Quora.com.