How to Delete Multiple Contacts on iPhone Quickly & Easily (2022)

A step-by-step guide on how to mass delete contacts on iPhone.

Deleting multiple contacts at once on iPhone is no small feat. Erasing contacts from your iPhone will take a long time since there’s no multi-delete option in Contacts on iPhone. In fact, the easiest way to quickly delete multiple contacts from iPhone is to do it on a Mac or PC. We'll show you how to delete contacts on iPhone, Mac, and PC.

Jump To:

Where Should You Delete Contacts?

You can easily mass delete multiple contacts on your computer and the results will show up on your iPhone, as long as you have Contacts syncing enabled in your iPhone's iCloud settings. This guide covers how to remove multiple contacts from any iPhone. We’ll also cover how to delete a contact from your iPhone individually and what to do if you’re clearing all your contacts at once from your iPhone because you are getting rid of the phone. For more tips and guides on managing iCloud and other iDevice features, be sure to subscribe to our free Tip of the Day newsletter.

The easiest way to remove contacts from your iPhone depends on whether you want to erase a single contact or remove many contacts at once and whether you have a Mac or Windows PC.

How to Delete Contacts on iPhone

  1. Open the Contacts app.

    iOS Home Screen with Contacts app marked
  2. Locate the contact you wish to delete and tap it.

    Contacts list in Contacts app with one contact entry marked
  3. Tap Edit in the upper right corner of the card.

    Contact screen in Contacts app with Edit button marked
  4. Scroll to the bottom of the screen and tap Delete Contact.

    Contact edit screen in Contacts app with Delete Contact option marked
  5. Tap Delete Contact again to confirm and then tap Done.

    Delete Contact confirmation with Delete Contact marked

How to Delete Multiple Contacts from Your iPhone

Whatever kind of PC you use, you can manage and delete your iCloud contacts via the iCloud website with any web browser. If you use a Mac, you can also do the same through the Contacts app.

For Mac users:

You can remove multiple contacts at once from your iPhone using the Contacts app on your Mac. In order for this to work, make sure you're logged in with the same Apple ID as your iPhone.

  1. Open System Preferences and click Apple ID.

    Mac System Preferences with Apple ID icon marked
  2. Click the Contacts check box to make your contacts sync between devices.

    Mac Apple ID Preferences screen with Contacts marked
  3. Open the Contacts app.  Hold Command and click each contact you want to delete.

    Mac Contacts list with two contacts marked
  4. This will highlight the clicked contacts.  Once you've selected all you'd like to delete hold the Control key and click or right click.

    Mac Contacts list with two contacts selected and marked
  5. This will open a menu.  Click the Delete Cards option.

    Mac contacts list with two contacts selected and the command-click menu open with Delete Cards highlighted and marked
  6. In the confirmation window, click the Delete button.

    Mac Contact deletion confirmation window with Delete button marked

As long as Contacts is checked in your Apple ID preferences, any changes will sync to your iPhone and other devices as well.

For Windows PC users:

  1. Open your preferred web browser and go to icloud.com. Log in with your Apple ID and click Contacts.

    iCloud website with Contacts icon marked
  2. Hold Ctrl and click on the Contacts you want to delete.

    iCloud website Contacts list with four selected contacts marked
  3. Click the gear icon in the lower left corner and select Delete from the menu.

    iCloud website Contacts list with four selected contacts and the gear icon menu open with Delete option marked
  4. Click the Delete button in the confirmation menu.

    iCloud website contact deletion confirmation window with Delete button marked

As with the process on the Mac, any changes made via the iCloud website should sync to your iPhone as well.

Deleting All Contacts on iPhone

iPhone users sometimes make the mistake of mass deleting all their contacts and other personal information before passing the device on instead of restoring it to factory settings. This is especially common if the user is just handing the iPhone over to another family member, but it also happens when the device is being sold.

In order to protect your privacy and avoid the complications that come from sharing an Apple ID with another person, you do not need to delete all your contacts, but you will need to sign out of Apple ID and iCloud completely and erase all your data from the iPhone completely by restoring the device to its factory settings. When the data is erased, all the contacts will be deleted from that iPhone without erasing them from your Contacts app anywhere else.

If you are planning to hand the cleared device over to a family member and want to be able to share App Store and iTunes purchases, you can do that by setting up Family Sharing, which allows you to share purchases while having separate Apple IDs.

Related: How to Edit a Contact on Your iPhone

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Topics

Author Details

Conner Carey's picture

Author Details

Conner Carey

Conner Carey's writing can be found at conpoet.com. She is currently writing a book, creating lots of content, and writing poetry via @conpoet on Instagram. She lives in an RV full-time with her mom, Jan and dog, Jodi as they slow-travel around the country.