How to Reset iPad to Sell It & Other Privacy Steps You Should Take

4 simple steps to reset an iPad to factory settings and protect your private data.

If you’re considering an iPad upgrade and want to sell or give away your current device, you will need to know how to reset an iPad to factory settings to prevent the new owner from having access to your personal information. We'll show you how to factory reset an iPad to prep it for selling, plus three other important privacy steps to take before you sell an iPad.

Related: What Is iCloud & How Does It Work?

Jump To:

1. Back Up Data before You Reset iPad

Before you sell the iPad, be sure to back it up. Backing up your iPad is more than just a great way to ensure you don’t lose data;  it also allows for the fastest possible setup of a new iPad if you do purchase one to replace your old one. You can choose to back up an iPad to a computer, but an iCloud backup will typically be the simpler option.

Follow these steps to back up an iPad to iCloud:

  1. Open Settings.

    Open the Settings app to back up iPad to iCloud
     
  2. Tap on your Apple ID profile at the top of the sidebar.

    Tap your Apple ID profile to back up to sell iPad
     
  3. Tap iCloud.

    Tap iCloud
     
  4. Tap iCloud Backup.

    Tap iCloud Backup
     
  5. Check the date and time of the last successful backup.
  6. If the last backup was more than a couple of hours ago or you’ve made significant changes to your iPad since the last backup, tap Back Up Now.

It will likely take a little while to back up, depending on how much data is being synced with iCloud. Once the iPad backup is complete, you can verify its success by following these steps and checking that the last successful backup date is accurate.

2. How to Reset iPad Settings: Disable Find My on iPad

Find My is an incredibly helpful tool, especially if you have multiple Apple devices and often lose them. However, it's a feature that has to be disabled prior to selling or trading in an Apple device, so you'll need to know how to disable Find My before you sell the iPad.

  1. Open Settings.

    Disable Find My iPad to Sell iPad
     
  2. Tap on your Apple ID profile at the top of the sidebar.

    Disable Find My iPad to Sell iPad
     
  3. Select Find My.

    Disable Find My iPad to Sell iPad
     
  4. Tap Find My iPad.

    Disable Find My iPad to Sell iPad
     
  5. Tap the Find My iPad toggle to disable the feature. The toggle will be gray when it's turned off.

    Disable Find My iPad to Sell iPad
     
  6. Enter your Apple ID password when prompted.
  7. Tap Turn Off.

Now that you've disabled Find My iPad, use the next section to sign out of iCloud so that you'll be ready to factory reset the iPad.

3. How to Reset iPad Settings: Sign Out of iCloud

Signing out of iCloud automatically signs you out of the App Store, iMessage, and FaceTime.  Since you already completed a backup, you’ll still have all of your preferences and personal configurations saved for when you’re ready to set up your new iPad.

To sign out of iCloud on iPad:

  1. Open Settings.

    Disable Find My iPad to Sell iPad
     
  2. Tap on your Apple ID profile at the top of the sidebar.

    Disable Find My iPad to Sell iPad
     
  3. Scroll all the way to the bottom.
  4. Tap Sign Out.

    Tap Sign Out to sign out of iCloud on iPad
     
  5. Enter your Apple ID password when prompted.
  6. Tap Turn Off.

    Tap Turn Off to turn off iCloud on iPad to sell iPad
     
  7. Do not opt to keep any data on your device.
  8. Tap Sign Out.
  9. Tap Sign Out again to confirm.

Now that you're signed out of everything, we'll show you how to wipe an iPad's data to reset it for the new owner.

4. How to Factory Reset iPad

Erasing your personal information is a crucial step to take before you give away or sell an iPad. When you factory reset an iPad it erases all saved information (which is why performing a backup is so important), which gives the new owner a fresh start and protects your personal information.

Here's how to restore an iPad to factory settings:

  1. Open Settings.

    How to factory reset iPad
     
  2. Select General.
  3. Choose Reset.

    Restore iPad to Factory Settings
     
  4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.

    How to wipe an iPad
     
  5. If prompted to back up your iPad, select Erase Now (don't worry, you performed the requested iPad backup in the first step).

    Reset iPad to factory settings
     
  6. Enter your passcode.

    How to erase iPad to sell iPad
     
  7. Tap Erase.
  8. Tap Erase again to confirm.

There you have it! In just a few easy steps, you can give away, trade in, or sell an iPad with confidence and know that your personal information is secure and ready to transfer to your new device. 

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Topics

Author Details

Erin MacPherson's picture

Author Details

Erin MacPherson

Erin is a Web Editor for iPhone Life and has been a writer, editor, and researcher for many years. She has a degree in communication with an emphasis on psychology and communication, and has spent many of her professional years as a coach in various business and specialty fields. Erin officially joined the ranks of iPhone and Apple users everywhere around nine years ago, and has since enjoyed the unique and customized feel of Apple technology and its many gadgets. When she’s not working, Erin and her son enjoy outdoor adventures, camping, and spending time with their eclectic collection of pets.