How to Delete the Live Photo Version of a Picture

 How to Delete the Live Photo Version of a Photo

Apple introduced the Live Photo feature with the iPhone 6S, and it's still a fun and popular feature of the native iPhone Camera app. Unless you've chosen to preserve your Live Photo settings in the Camera Settings, the Live Photo function is on by default when you open the Camera app, so you need to turn off live photos if you want a traditional still shot. Sometimes, though, we all forget to turn off Live Photo; now what? No worries, you can delete the Live Photo version of your picture and keep the still photo. Let's get started learning how on your iPhone in iOS 11.3.

Related: What Does HDR Mean? Take Gorgeous Photos with HDR on iPhone

Master your iPhone in one minute a day:

Sign up to iPhone Life's Tip of the Day Newsletter and we'll send you a tip each day to save time and get the most out of your iPhone or iPad.

To delete a Live Photo and keep a still shot instead: 

  • Open the Photos app.
  • Select the Live Photo you'd like to change to a still. 

iphone live photoiphone camera settings  

  • Tap Edit.
  • Tap the Live Photo icon in the middle, at the top of your display. 

  live photos ios 11turn off live photos iphone

  •  Select Done.

turn a live photo into a still photo on iphone

Top Image Credit: Hadrian / Shutterstock.com

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Conner Carey's writing can be found at conpoet.com. She is currently writing a book, creating lots of content, and writing poetry via @conpoet on Instagram. She lives in an RV full-time with her mom, Jan and dog, Jodi as they slow-travel around the country.