How to Deactivate or Delete Your Facebook Account on Your iPhone

The movement to delete or deactivate Facebook continues to gain steam as controversies mount, such as the platform’s improper handling of user data, its reluctance to remove false ads, and its reported manipulation of users’ emotions to heighten addictiveness. The hashtag #deletefacebook has been trending across social media, leading many users to do just that. If you’re also considering deleting Facebook, this article explains how to permanently delete your account, temporarily deactivate your account, or merely adjust your privacy settings for tighter control over your data.

Related: How to Set Screen Time Limits for Specific Apps on the iPhone & iPad (Updated for 2019)

What's in this article:

Before permanently deleting your Facebook account, you may want to download a copy of your Facebook data for your reference (for more information, visit Facebook’s help page). Also, be aware that it may take up to 90 days for Facebook to delete everything you’ve posted, during which time it is not accessible to other Facebook users. If you change your mind about deleting Facebook and it’s been less than 30 days since you activated the process, you can cancel the deletion. After 30 days, it’s final.

  1. Launch the Facebook app on your iPhone and tap on the three-line icon in the bottom right corner
  2. Swipe down to the bottom and tap on Settings & Privacy

    three line icon facebook settings and privacy
     
  3. Tap on Settings
  4. Swipe down again and tap Account Ownership and Control

    facebook settings facebook account ownership and control
     
  5. Tap Deactivation and Deletion
  6. Choose Delete Account and click Continue to Account Deletion

    deactivate and delete facebook facebook account deletion
     

How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account on Your iPhone

If the delete option is too final for you, you can opt for temporarily deactivating your account. You can reactivate it later if you choose. When you deactivate, your profile won’t be visible to other users and your profile won’t be searchable. But some information, such as your messages to others, may still be visible to them.

  1. Launch the Facebook app on your iPhone and tap on the three-line icon in the bottom right corner
  2. Swipe down to the bottom and tap on Settings & Privacy

    three line icon facebook app the three line icon
     
  3. Tap on Settings
  4. Swipe down again and tap Account Ownership and Control

    facebook app settings facebook app account ownership
     
  5. Tap Deactivation and Deletion
  6. Choose Delete Account and click 

      deactivate facebook account delete facebook account
     

How to Change Your Facebook Privacy Settings

If you’d like to continue using the platform but with tighter control over your privacy and the data Facebook keeps about you, such as location and face recognition, you can simply adjust your privacy and security settings.

  1. Launch the Facebook app on your iPhone and tap on the three-line icon in the bottom right corner
  2. Swipe down to the bottom and tap on Settings & Privacy

    three line icon facebook settings and privacy
     
  3. Tap on Privacy Shortcuts
  4. Read through the various privacy and data settings and adjust them as you like

    facebook app privacy settings facebook privacy and data options
Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.