How to Leave the iOS 11 Beta Program without Restoring Your iPhone

In past years, removing previous iOS betas from iPhone or iPad was a pain in the butt. Starting with the iOS 10 beta, however, beta testers became able to simply delete the iOS beta profile to get rid of it. Doing so will not downgrade your iOS but it will remove you from the beta program (giving you access to public iOS releases again) and makes it so that you don’t receive alerts for new iOS beta versions. You can get rid of the iOS 11 beta whenever you want, but downgrading from iOS 11 to iOS 10.3.2 isn't actually possible as Apple forces you to downgrade to iOS 10.3.3 beta. So it's recommended that you wait until the public iOS 11 is out, which will allow you to get rid of the beta software smoothly. I don't recommend trying to downgrade once you're on the iOS 11 beta program; however, if you insist, this Apple how-to will help. If you don't mind waiting for the public iOS 11, Apple has made it easy to unenroll from its beta program, which means when it's over you won't lose any data from restoring an old backup. Here’s how to leave the iOS 11 beta program without restoring your iPhone and without using a computer. 

Related: Can’t Wait for iOS 11? Here’s How to Sign Up for Apple’s Beta Program

Master your iPhone in one minute a day:

Sign up to iPhone Life's Tip of the Day Newsletter and we'll send you a tip each day to save time and get the most out of your iPhone or iPad.

You can delete and get rid of the iOS 11 beta super easily. But back when we were testing iOS 9, leaving the beta program meant losing months of pictures, data, and more. If you want to get rid of the iOS 11 beta, you’ll be pleasantly surprised how easy it is. But it's another story if you want downgrade from the iOS 11 beta back to iOS 10. Unless your device is a brick, I highly reccomend just sticking with the iOS 11 beta program until the public iOS 11 is released. At which point, following the directions below will allow you to easily leave the beta program and gain access to public releases once again.  

How to Unenroll from iOS 11 Beta

  • Open Settings.
  • Tap General.
  • Scroll down until you see Profile. Tap on it.
  • Select the iOS 11 Public Beta Profile.
  • Tap Remove Profile. 

  • Enter your passcode and confirm, Remove.
  • Restart your iPhone by holding down the Sleep/Wake button and sliding to power off. Power your iPhone back on by holding down the Sleep/Wake button again.

This is where it can be confusing. If you're reading this article just before the public iOS 11 comes out, simply wait until it's out, then download and install the public iOS 11. If you're reading this just after the public iOS 11 is out, you might need to wait until Apple releases iOS 11.1 (or some variation of that) and download it. Why? According to Apple's website, your device will offically be unenrolled from the beta program, "when the next commercial version of iOS is released, [and] you install it from Software Update." 

Final Step: Leave the Beta Program

  • After you’ve deleted the iOS 11 beta profile from your device, visit https://beta.apple.com/sp/betaprogram/unenroll.
  • Login if not already.
  • Scroll all the way down. Under How do I leave the program? Select Leave Apple Beta Software Program.

This lets Apple know you will no longer be beta testing iOS 11. Your account will be removed from the Apple Beta Software Program, at least until the next time you decide to be a beta tester.

 

Top image credit: Ellica / Shutterstock.com

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Conner Carey holds a bachelor's in English with an emphasis in Creative Writing and resides in Fairfield, Iowa. When she's not writing, you can find her singing jazz or watching anime. Her personal blog can be found at connerleecarey.com; you can also follow her on twitter @connerleecarey.