How to Share a Calendar on iPhone (2022)

Share & revoke access from shared iPhone calendar for those who no longer need it.

* This post is part of iPhone Life's Tip of the Day newsletter. . *

There are many ways to stay connected with friends, family, and coworkers on iOS. Today we'll show you how to grant and revoke access to a shared calendar. Please note you can only share calendars with contacts who also have iCloud accounts and the email associated with their iCloud account must be saved in their contact card.

Why You'll Love This Tip

  • Let friends and family easily see when you're available.
  • Easily remove shared calendar access from anyone who no longer needs it.

How to Grant and Revoke Access to Shared Calendars

Sharing an iPhone calendar with friends and family is an easy way to keep people informed of the events going on in your life and aid in planning meetups, gatherings, or other plans. Setting up a shared calendar on iPhone is easy, and it's just as easy to remove people from your calendars if you don't need or want them to have access any longer. For more quick guides on making use of your iPhone apps and features, be sure to sign up for our free Tip of the Day newsletter.

  1. Open the Calendar app.

    Home screen with Calendar app icon marked.
  2. Tap Calendars at the bottom to open your list of all calendars.

    Calendar screen with the Calendars button at the bottom marked.
  3. Find the calendar you want to share and tap the info icon next to the calendar name to open the Edit Calendar screen.

    Calendars screen with the "i" button next to the Home calendar marked.
  4. Tap the Add Person button.

    Edit Calendar screen with the Add Person button marked.
  5. Enter the name of the person you want to share the calendar with, then tap their name in the search results.

    Add Person screen with a name entered in the search field and the search result marked.
  6. Tap Add.

    Tap Add
  7. If you want to remove the person from your calendar, return to the Edit Calendar screen and tap their name.

    Edit Calendar screen with an added person marked.
  8. Tap Stop Sharing.

    Edit Calendar person screen with Stop Sharing button marked.
  9. Finally, tap Remove on the confirmation message that appears to stop sharing this calendar with the selected person.

    Edit Calendar person screen with the Stop Sharing confirmation message open and Remove button marked.
Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Topics

Author Details

Tommy Ly's picture

Author Details

Tommy Ly

Tommy Ly spent a few years covering iOS news and writing iDevice accessory reviews for AppAdvice.com before joining iPhone Life and loves checking out cases and other mobile gear.