How to Avoid Accidentally Deleting Mail with iOS 11 on iPhone

We’ve all been there: we get swipe happy while checking our email and accidentally delete an email we needed to read. Shake to undo on the iPhone is helpful in this situation, but if you’re chronically deleting emails you needed to read, consider turning on a feature that asks you if you’re sure you want to delete an email before it’s deleted. You can turn this feature on in Settings on the iPhone. Here’s how to avoid accidentally deleting mail with iOS 11 on iPhone.

Related: How to Change What Left and Right Swipes Do in the Mail App

Master your iPhone in one minute a day:

Sign up to iPhone Life's Tip of the Day Newsletter and we'll send you a tip each day to save time and get the most out of your iPhone or iPad.

How to Avoid Accidentally Deleting Mail

  • Open Settings.

  • Tap Mail.

  • Under Messages, toggle on Ask Before Deleting.

  • Now, when you go to delete an email, your iPhone will create a pop-up message asking if you’re sure.

Confirm Delete and the message will still be deleted. And there will be no more accidentally deleting emails you need.

Top image credit: Denys Prykhodov / Shutterstock.com

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Conner Carey holds a bachelor's in English with an emphasis in Creative Writing and resides in Fairfield, Iowa. When she's not writing, you can find her singing jazz or watching anime. Her personal blog can be found at connerleecarey.com; you can also follow her on twitter @connerleecarey.