How to Disable Notification Previews for All Apps with iOS 11 on iPhone

For awhile now on iPhone, you’ve had the ability to hide message previews when receiving a notification from the Messages app. Now, with iOS 11, you can also disable previews for notifications from all your other apps. For example, say you have Facebook notifications enabled and a friend comments on your photo. Normally, you’d receive a notification that tells you that person commented on your photo. But when you disable notification previews, you’ll simply see that you have a Facebook notification, with no further info being displayed on the Lock screen. Here’s how to disable notification previews for all apps with iOS 11 on iPhone.

Related: How to Turn Off Repeat Message Notifications on Your iPhone

Master your iPhone in one minute a day:

Sign up to iPhone Life's Tip of the Day Newsletter and we'll send you a tip each day to save time and get the most out of your iPhone or iPad.

How to Disable Notification Previews for All Apps

  • Open the Settings app.
  • Tap Notifications.
  • At the top, select Show Previews.

  • To disable all notification previews, tap Never.
  • To hide previews only when your phone is locked, tap When Unlocked.
Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Conner Carey is a writer (creative & SEO), online business consultant, and vision planner. You can schedule a free consultation or join her email list at connercarey.com (coming soon; you can email her at connercarey@gmail.com in the meantime). She’s currently garage-selling all of her stuff to hit the road in an RV full-time with her mom, Jan and dog, Jodi. Follow their adventures on instagram @georgiatheRV.