How to Selectively Clear Your Browsing History in Safari iPhone & iPad

If you share an iPhone or iPad with others, you may wish to keep parts of your iPhone web browsing history private. But what if you forget to turn on Private Browsing? You could clear your entire browsing history, but nothing says "I'm hiding things from you" more effectively than clearing your browsing history. Fortunately, there are options for clearing your Safari history on iPhone selectively. Here’s how to selectively clear your browsing history in Safari on iPhone or iPad.

Related: How to Delete Most Frequently Visited Sites on iPhone

Master your iPhone in one minute a day:

Sign up to iPhone Life's Tip of the Day Newsletter and we'll send you a tip each day to save time and get the most out of your iPhone or iPad.

To do this:

  • Open Safari. To delete a webste from your Safari browser history, tap the Bookmarks icon.

Tip of the Day: How to Selectively Clear Your Browsing History in SafariHow to Selectively Clear Your Browsing History in Safari

  • Select History. Once in History, you have two options:

  • You can tap Clear. This will allow you to erase your Safari history from a certain time period by choosing from the menu of options: the last hour, today, today and yesterday, or all time.

Tip of the Day: How to Selectively Clear Your Browsing History in SafariTip of the Day: How to Selectively Clear Your Browsing History in Safari

  • Or, you can clear individual history items and URLs on iPhone or iPad by swiping left on the selected item and tapping Delete. Tap Done when you’ve finished your selective deleting.  

Tip of the Day: How to Selectively Clear Your Browsing History in Safari

Top Image Credit: Shutterstock / Gaudilab

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Sarah Kingsbury is the Senior Web Editor of iPhone Life magazine. Previously she wrote for savvyvegetarian.com and was the Associate Editor of the Iowa Source for many years.