How to Save Space by Emptying Deleted Photos Album

You need space on your phone and quickly! So you delete a few (or a few hundred!) photos. However, that doesn’t seem to give you space. That’s because your deleted photos go into your Recently Deleted folder. This folder saves your deleted photos up to 30 days after you delete them, so they’re still stored on your device and taking up storage. Luckily, it’s really easy to delete those pesky photos. Here’s how to do it.

In order to create space on your phone, open your Photos app. Go to the Recently Deleted folder.

  

Tap Select in the top right corner. You can swipe specific photos you want to delete, select Recover All, or tap Delete All. If you’re sure there are no photos you want to save, tap Delete All in the lower, left corner. Confirm Delete. This will give you the most space on your device!

  

Top image credit: Denys Prykhodov / Shutterstock.com

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.
Abbey Dufoe's picture

Abbey Dufoe is a freelance writer and a web producer at a nonprofit based in Princeton, NJ. She's always itching for the newest iOS gadget (current favorite - the Apple Watch). She tweets and blogs about the earth and the Internet on Twitter at @abbeydufoe and at abbeydufoe.com.