How to Stop Sharing Location on iPhone

* This post is part of iPhone Life's Tip of the Day newsletter. . *

Sharing your location is a handy way to let friends, family, or significant others know where you are at any given moment. The iPhone's Find My app makes this super easy. But what if you decide you don’t want your contacts to know where you are? Read on to find out how to stop sharing your location.

Why You’ll Love This Tip

  • Prevent others from seeing where you are if you don’t want them to.
  • Save battery by not using Location Services to constantly send your location.

How to Turn Off Location on iPhone

If you previously shared your location with a contact but no longer want to, you can easily switch it off from the Find My app. For more iPhone hidden tips and tricks, be sure to sign up for our free Tip of the Day newsletter. Now, here’s how to stop sharing your location:

iPhone Life
Discover your iPhone's hidden features
Get a daily tip (with screenshots and clear instructions) so you can master your iPhone in just one minute a day.
  1. Open the Find My app.

    Open the Find My app.
  2. Tap People.

    Tap People.
  3. There are two ways to proceed. The quickest is to swipe left on the contact with whom you no longer want to share your location.

    There are two ways to proceed. The quickest is to swipe left on the contact with which you no longer want to share your location.
  4. Tap the red trash can icon.

    Tap the red trash can icon.
  5. Alternatively, you can tap the contact.

    Alternatively, you can tap the contact.
  6. Scroll down and tap Stop Sharing My Location.

    Scroll down and tap Stop Sharing My Location.
  7. Tap Stop Sharing Location to confirm.

    Tap Stop Sharing Location to confirm.

This will stop sharing your location with the contact. Another way to do this is to go into the Messages app and tap on the contact’s name at the top of the screen. Then, you can scroll down and tap Stop Sharing My Location. In the end, this contact will no longer be able to see your location.

If you’re wondering how to stop sharing your location without them knowing, the above methods will work. You’ll see a notification in your Message history that says you stopped sharing your location, but this notification is visible only to you. Any method of turning off location sharing will not notify the other person.

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Topics

Author Details

Rhett Intriago's picture

Author Details

Rhett Intriago

Rhett Intriago is a Feature Writer at iPhone Life, offering his expertise in all things iPhone, Apple Watch, and AirPods. He enjoys writing on topics related to maintaining privacy in a digital world, as well as iPhone security. He’s been a tech enthusiast all his life, with experiences ranging from jailbreaking his iPhone to building his own gaming PC.

Despite his disdain for the beach, Rhett is based in Florida. In his free time, he enjoys playing the latest games, spoiling his cats, or discovering new places with his wife, Kyla.