How to Reconnect with People You Unfollowed on Facebook

Unfollowing friends on Facebook is an easy way to stay friends with someone without seeing their posts. But maybe you want to reconnect with them now. You can easily choose to start following them on Facebook again, which will simply allow Facebook to show you their posts in your News feed. Here’s how to reconnect with people you unfollowed on Facebook.

Related: How to Turn Off Facebook Live Notifications for iPhone

Master your iPhone in one minute a day:

Sign up to iPhone Life's Tip of the Day Newsletter and we'll send you a tip each day to save time and get the most out of your iPhone or iPad.

How to Reconnect with People You Unfollowed on Facebook

  • Open the Facebook app and tap the Menu icon that looks like three horizontal lines, located at the bottom right of the screen.

  • Scroll down and select Settings.

  • Choose News Feed Preferences.

  • Tap Reconnect with people you unfollowed.

  • A list of the people you’ve unfollowed will appear. Tap the people you want to start following on Facebook once again.

  • Tap Done.


People you start following again on Facebook won’t know you’ve started following them again in the same way that they weren’t notified when you stopped following them before.

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Conner Carey holds a bachelor's in English with an emphasis in Creative Writing and resides in Fairfield, Iowa. When she's not writing, you can find her singing jazz or watching anime. Her personal blog can be found at connerleecarey.com; you can also follow her on twitter @connerleecarey.