How to Turn Off the Facebook Facial Recognition Feature on iPhone

Facebook recently announced a new facial recognition feature that informs account holders when their image appears in other people's photos and videos, then allows them to tag themselves. In addition, the feature warns Facebook users when their picture is used to open another account. While some Facebook users find the facial recognition feature innocuous, or even helpful, others prefer to steer clear of what they perceive as an invasion of privacy. For those of you who would like to turn off facial recognition on Facebook, read on to learn how to do so on your iPhone.  

Related: How to Delete Privacy-Invading Facebook Apps on iPhone

Master your iPhone in one minute a day:

Sign up to iPhone Life's Tip of the Day Newsletter and we'll send you a tip each day to save time and get the most out of your iPhone or iPad.

How to Turn Off the Facebook Facial Recognition Feature on iPhone

This tip works with the Facebook app, not when you're logged into facebook.com.

  • Open the Facebook app.
  • Click the menu icon in the lower-right corner of your profile page.

facebook app privacyhow to make facebook private

  • Scroll down and tap on Settings & Privacy.
  • Now tap on Account Settings.

turn off facebook facial recognitionturn off facial recognition on facebook

  • Tap on Face Recognition.
  • Tap on the arrow under Face Recognition.

face recognition appfacebook features

  • Tap No.

how to turn off face recognition on facebook

That's it! 

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Leanne Hays is a Feature Web Writer at iPhone Life.  She loves reading and blogging, and is never without a book in her backpack or an audiobook on her phone. Short-term goals include finishing painting her house and starting an aquaponics farm, long-term goals include a bike tour of Italy and writing a novel.