How to Turn off Apple Music Auto Renew (aka Cancel Your Subscription) on iPhone

* This post is part of iPhone Life's Tip of the Day newsletter. . *

For new Apple Music users, Apple offers a three-month trial. When those three months are up, you can choose to cancel your subscription if you’ve decided it’s not for you. But Apple will automatically begin to charge your account if you haven’t turned off auto renew. On the other hand, let’s say you’ve been using Apple Music for a while but want to cancel. You can use this tip to make sure your account isn’t automatically renewed for another month of Apple Music. Here’s how to turn off Apple Music auto renew on the iPhone.

Related: 18 Tips for Getting the Most out of Apple Music Features & Settings

How to Turn off Apple Music Auto Renew

It’s good to note that this tip has been updated for iOS 11 users.

  • Open the Music app.
  • Tap the For You tab.
  • In the upper right corner, tap on the circle icon that’s either a blank person or the photo you’ve assigned.
  • Scroll down to the bottom and tap View Account.
  • Tap View Apple ID. You will need to use Touch ID or your password to login.
  • From here, tap Subscriptions.
  • Under Active, select Apple Music Membership.
  • Tap Cancel Subscription.
  • Tap Confirm.

You’ll still have access to your Apple Music account until the renewal date.

 
Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Topics

Author Details

Sarah Kingsbury's picture

Author Details

Sarah Kingsbury

Sarah Kingsbury is the Editorial Directer at iPhone Life. She manages the web editorial team and oversees all web and newsletter content. A long-time iPhone and Mac enthusiast, Sarah loves teaching people how to use their Apple devices.