Use iTunes to delete synced
 music, videos, or photos

To transfer music, video, and other content to your iPhone or iPod touch, you must sync with iTunes. Once you have disconnected from iTunes, you cannot delete the synced content directly from the device. You must reconnect to iTunes, deselect the content you want to remove in iTunes, and re-synchronize.

Want to master your iPhone and iPad? Sign up here to get our tip of the day delivered right to your inbox.