Tip of the Day: Set Old Messages to Automatically Delete

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

If you do a lot of texting, your Message app is probably clogged with old messages. Before iOS 8 you had to manually delete conversations or individual messages. Now you can set the app to automatically delete all messages older than 30 days or one year. The default setting lets you keep your messages forever, which could be handy if everything you write is a gem of unparalleled wisdom. Everyone else, read on:

Go to Settings>Messages and tap Keep Messages to open.

Select 30 days or 1 year and your iDevice will start automatically deleting messages once they are older than your chosen time period. 

  

It would be nice if Apple offered more time intervals for this feature. Inspired by the Siri work around for setting custom repeating reminders, I attempted to set messages to delete after six month using Siri, but was unsuccessful.

 

Top image credit: Lorna Roberts/Shutterstock.com

Did you enjoy this tip? Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get the FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Sarah Kingsbury is the Senior Web Editor of iPhone Life magazine. Previously she wrote for savvyvegetarian.com and was the Associate Editor of the Iowa Source for many years.