iPhone Life magazine

Avoid tagging photos with location data

Issue: 

When the iPhone’s Location Services is turned on (iPhone OS 2.0 or later), Camera photos are tagged with location data. This data is used with some applications and photo-sharing Web sites to track and post where you took your pictures. If you don’t want to include location data with your photos, turn off Location Services by going to Settings >General >Location Services. Once it’s been turned off, you may be prompted to turn it back on when you open the Camera app. If that happens, decline!

http://www.iphonelife.com/issues/2010Winter/TipsIphone3GS