iPhone Life magazine

How do I share videos?


You’ve recorded the next Oscar-winning video, and now you need to share it with the world! Fortunately, iOS gives you three ways to do so:


Share videos using e-mail:


Any iOS device with a camera

  1. Open Camera and tap on the Camera Roll icon in the lower-left of the screen.
  2. Tap on the desired video to display it.
  3. Tap on the Action icon in the lower-left corner (it looks like a box with an arrow coming out of it).
  4. Tap on Email Video. Your iPhone will attach the video as an MPEG-4 file to a new e-mail message.
  5. Type in the name of the recipient, subject, and any additional message you want. You may also tap on the “+” to bring up a list of your contacts.
  6. Tap on Send.

Share videos using a text message (MMS):


iPhone only
  1. Share Videos using MMSOpen Camera and tap on the Camera Roll icon in the lower-left of the screen.
  2. Tap on the desired video to display it.
  3. Tap on the Action icon on the lower-left corner (it looks like a box with an arrow coming out of it).
  4. Tap on MMS.
  5. Type in the name or number or the recipient. You can also press the “+” to bring up your contact list.
  6. Tap on Send.


Note: if the video is too big to send through e-mail or text, the iPhone will ask you if you want to send a shorter version. If you tap on Ok, you will be taken to the editing interface, and you can tap on Send again when you’ve shortened the video.



Share your videos through e-mail, text or YouTube straight from your device.


Share a video through YouTube:


Any iOS device with a camera

  1. Open Camera and tap on the Camera Roll icon in the lower-left of the screen.
  2. Tap on the desired video to display it.
  3. Tap on the Action icon on the lower-left corner (it looks like a box with an arrow coming out of it).

  4. Tap on Send to YouTube. You will need to enter your YouTube username and password and tap on Sign In.
  5. Type in a title, description, and tags for your video.
  6. Choose a video category.
  7. Tap on Publish. Depending on the size of the video and your current connection, this may take several minutes. Once the video is published, you will see several options:
  • Tap on View on YouTube to launch the YouTube player.

  • Tap on Tell a Friend to launch a new e-mail with a link to your video.

  • Tap on Close to go back to the video.